The place between the dots….

A few days ago, I had a visit by a dear friend of mine whom I hadn’t seen for 15 years.  When I last saw her, she was happily married with two small children but since that time, she tragically lost her husband at a young age, had a baby the next month and continued in the frenzy of life raising children as a widow.  Within a few years, she found herself married again with another child on the way; however, after a few years, she became divorced and continuing alone down the busiest years of her life….teens and toddlers.

“I really like to be in the place between the dots” said my friend after filling me in the blanks from her 15 years past.  This simple comment has really struck a cord and caused me to pause and reflect upon my own life.  The nuances between the dots are varied from one perspective to another but for me, I see myself on a journey in life always focused on getting from point A to B but most of time, reality is more like M-Z-Q-F as the letters get scrambled up and “you get what you get and don’t throw a fit” Truman Proverb.  We set out our goals, placing that positive thinking out there in space, planning and praying daily to do the Lord’s will all the while with our own goals in sight.   Then, come what may, as we are tossed to and fro in our ship of life whether the seas be calm or troubled, we’ve learned to align our will with God’s and are better equipped to handle the course while traversing between the dots.  That place will start to become a hallowed and sweet spot where we learn to walk with God and his son Jesus’ atonement carrying us through as it has become for my friend.

I can never fully say I understand my friends pain and trials she’s endured, but I know of my own losses in life as well as times of being like a single parent and I, too can say the best place to be in life is between the dots….for it’s in the journey where I find the purpose of my destination and what THAT reality may be during certain period’s of my life.

There’s a saying we’re all familiar with that says, “Enjoy the Journey”….that’s the place between the dots.

Thank you my sweet friend LeeAnn Koval-Martin, you have taught me well.

Leave a Reply

