Are you Hungry?

search

Today, I’m going to be up-close and more personal in my writing after all, this blog is my personal spiritual journey put into ink.   The more I learn, the more hungry I am to have more and so I dig deeper, praying and meditating about the things I’ve studied. Sometimes my greatest learning comes from the simplest of circumstances that are all around me but my eyes weren’t spiritually opened to see it.  One of these experiences happened recently as I’ve been thinking about how most of my summer has been spent being held hostage to my peach picking/canning production.

What began as planting tomato seeds a few years back, turned into a full-blown peach orchard.  I’m sure you’re asking yourself, “WHAT?”  That’s what I said as I waited and waited to see my tomato plants form and then finally after about a month or even two, I witnessed something growing but I KNEW it wasn’t tomatoes.  Luckily, I grew up on a mini orchard and spent my summers picking peaches, I recognized the plants as peach trees and didn’t end up pulling them.  I waited until they were slightly larger in size before I transplanted them around my yard.  I had to throw many away because my yard wasn’t big enough.  Where did they come from?

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter day Saints used to own a very large peach orchard in Hurricane and every spring and summer, wards were invited to come thin, pick and harvest peaches.  I always volunteered to go because, well, I guess I was hungry for peaches and because I loved doing it and I was allowed to take a bucket home afterward.  These peaches I canned but in the process, I would throw the pits out into my garden.  I’m guessing the tomato seeds that I planted germinated my peach pits and I was blessed with peach trees….forever.  I guess one of my favorite sayings, “will work for food” came to “fruit”ition.

I look at this experience as my personal manna from heaven.  I obeyed the Lord’s commands (requests) and because of my own personal sacrifice and diligence, I was given 100 fold back….I will be eating peaches for a very long time and will SHARE them with others. 🙂  I was hungry and the Lord provided.  I’m always hungry for his words….I really miss him as I miss my earthly father, too and I’m grateful he opened my eyes to this miraculous blessing and many others.

President Dieter F. Uchtdorf taught from the Apostle Paul about God’s harvest:

“Be not deceived; God is not mocked: for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap.

“For he that soweth to his flesh shall of the flesh reap corruption; but he that soweth to the Spirit shall of the Spirit reap life everlasting.

“And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not” (Galatians 6:7–9).

In recent times, the Lord has given us additional wisdom and insight into this immutable law:

“There is a law, irrevocably decreed in heaven before the foundations of this world, upon which all blessings are predicated—

“And when we obtain any blessing from God, it is by obedience to that law upon which it is predicated” (D&C 130:20–21).

What we sow, we reap.

God’s harvest is unimaginably glorious. To those who honor Him, His bountiful blessings come in “good measure, pressed down, and shaken together, and running over. … For with the same measure that ye mete withal it shall be measured to you again” (Luke 6:38).

Just as earthly seeds require effort and patience, so do many of the blessings of heaven. We cannot put our religion on a shelf and expect to harvest spiritual blessings. But if we plant and nurture gospel standards in the daily life of our family, there is a high probability that our children will grow up to produce spiritual fruit of great value to them and to future generations.

God’s answers to our prayers do not always come immediately—sometimes they do not appear to come at all—but God knows what is best for His children. Assuredly, one day we will see more clearly; and on that day we will recognize the goodness and generosity of heaven.

In the meantime, our goal and great joy is to walk in the footsteps of our Master and Savior and to live good and refined lives so that the promised and precious harvest of God’s priceless blessings can be ours.

What we sow, we reap. That is the law of heaven. That is the law of God’s harvest”.

What are you hungry for?  What ever your heart seeks out is what you’ll reap…it’s a simple principle with an exact result…there’s a famous saying, “what we think about comes about”.  I wasn’t thinking about getting my own personal peach orchard, but I was hungry for them which brought me to my act of service.  I know the Lord blessed me for my ACT of doing and when we DO, we reap.  I cannot learn God’s language if I don’t open up my scriptures, I cannot reap God’s blessing if I don’t do my part.

Simple….”JUST DO IT”. President Spencer W. Kimball

Leave a Reply

