Angels

7a48d1d0789ea122d7f09794756515d6

I believe in angels.  I have experienced their protection, guidance, tutelage and love many times in my life but not all of them have wings; some wear sneakers and run really fast while others carry a twinkle in their eyes.  My angels have shaped me into the person I am becoming and many are not even aware of it because they live surrounded by their own angels who lift and carry them about as they busily fulfill their lives with goodness and charity.  I believe there are angels all about me both from heaven and on earth.

When were my eyes first opened and I started becoming aware of angels?  It happened during the summer of 1985 in Chicago, Ill. while working as a nanny.  I was raised in the faith of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints but really had never tested my faith to see if what I had been taught was true until I moved away for the first time.  I remembered a lesson taught by an Institute teacher regarding how I could KNOW if the Book of Mormon was true for myself because in the very last chapter of the book is a promise written by Moroni (son of Mormon): “And when ye shall receive these things, I would exhort you that ye would ask God, the Eternal Father, in the name of Christ, if these things are not true; and if ye shall ask with a sincere heart, with real intent, having faith in Christ, he will manifest the truth of it unto you by the power of the Holy Ghost. And by the power of the Holy Ghost ye may know the truth of all things.” Moroni 10:4-5

I took the challenge and read the book in one short month, praying before I began to understand it, followed by prayer after to ask if it was true.  What happened to me at the culmination of my read was a special witness made manifest to me by the Holy Ghost that this book, The Book of Mormon is another testament of Jesus Christ and one that I cannot deny of its veracity.  This promise is real and can be had by every honest seeker.  This event changed the course of my life and because I continue to read, pray and pray again each time I read this book, I continue to receive powerful angelic guidance and tutelage daily.

Why I do my best to read the Bible and Book of Mormon daily?  It’s for many reasons but It goes back to my previous blog about having 20/20 vision:  To have perfect vision and to see clearly….I personally haven’t mastered 20/20 vision but I’m working on it daily.  When I read and study first thing in the morning, thoughts enter my mind as I’m exercising or working which enlighten me about whatever it is I’m praying about at the time.  When I was a first-time teacher at a charter school and was not given a curriculum to follow that year, I was left to invent my own which got me relying on inspiration.   Magnificently, without fail, each morning during my exercises, prayer and meditation, I would know what I was supposed to teach that day.  The greatest reason I read is for the added strength and courage from the spirit I feel during the day which helps me see people and things differently and to invite angels to surround me and keep me safe.

We live in crazy times like we’ve never seen before in our lives to be sure and we need to have a firm belief in the gospel of Jesus Christ to anchor us so as to avoid being like drift wood (and everything else) that washes ashore after the storm.  “As evil increases in the world, there is a compensatory spiritual power for the righteous,” Elder Neil L. Andersen of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles told thousands of people gathered for the BYU Campus Education Week devotional held in the Marriott Center on August 18.

“The Lord has long anticipated this important period of human history,” he said. “He knows the end from the beginning. The Savior has assured us in our day: ‘Be of good cheer, and do not fear, for I the Lord am with you, and will stand by you.’”

Sharing some selected statistics from recent studies, Elder Andersen briefly spoke of the harsh realities of the day—an increase in terrorism throughout the world, children born to unmarried couples, a decline in religious affiliation, and an increase in refugees and displaced people around the world. Yet, despite difficulty, Elder Andersen reminded listeners of the contrasting good in the world and the blessings that come to those who follow the Savior.

“We live in very interesting times, yet marvelous times,” he said. “We are in the dispensation of the fulness of times, when the fulness of the gospel has been restored and as the world is being prepared for the Second Coming of the Savior. These are days of looking forward, of beautiful anticipation. These are our days.”

Elder Andersen spoke of the commotion and confusion—with many disregarding the commandments of God—the world will experience in preparation for the Second Coming of the Savior.”

My earliest experience with angels certainly came because I was raised in a home with a good family where the environment of gospel principles was being taught and especially lived.  My parents never lectured us about the gospel, they simply lived it and taught by example.  They were true angels to me and because of their love for me, I was able to develop my personality, traits and talents and gain my own testimony of the gospel of Jesus Christ of Latter day Saints, of the Book of Mormon and of the prophet Joseph Smith:  This is a sure anchor in my life.

There are and have been many spiritual angels surrounding me throughout my life as there are around all of us if we are living in a way that invites them.  There are earthly angels around me, too like teachers, friends, family members, church and civic leaders, neighbors, co-workers in employment and the gospel, my children (my German children & their families) and especially my husband.  Each one has come into my life at an integral time to help shape who I am becoming and I will forever be grateful to my Heavenly Father who has blessed me so abundantly.  Thanks to you my angels both in heaven and on earth, I’m able to see more clearly.  I love you!!!

Leave a Reply

