“Hang on”

Kiss rubber, the buck board and the princess seat.  These are your choices in determining how high you want your high adventure to be while sitting on a rubber raft on Western River’s white water river rafting expedition.  No matter which place you choose, the ride is going to be wild and exciting especially when you have great guides, wonderful people to share it with and beautiful creations all around to savor as long as you “hang on” as we were instructed by the mighty sweeper-guide/story teller, Mackay.

Life is like the river, wild and crazy but with the proper guidance due to guides who know the “river” or life so well, dangers can be avoided such as rocks and holes under the water or perilous choices we tend to make in life when we live on the edge. The river is always changing and guides have to know how to alter their course when weather makes it challenging or the ways of the world are misleading.  Though they do their best to navigate us in safety, there are always uncertainties that knowledge cannot foresee but preparation and obedience to God’s commandments will help.  As our guide Wiley put it, “If you didn’t know it before, you signed up for a high adventure vacation, and if you’re not up for that kind of adventure, this is probably not for you”.  We all signed up for this adventure called life…hello, we’re all here in it together.

I know I signed up for this life before I was even given the “prep speech” and I look at it as high adventure that I get to share with truly amazing people who inspire, guide and teach me by example, especially my husband who surprised me with this trip on Christmas as a late 25th wedding anniversary gift. This trip was truly the most incredible and fun vacation I have ever experienced mostly due to the high adventure aspect but bumped up a notch by the greatest guides/chefs/teachers/storytellers/musicians/lifesavers/friends/entertainers and overall, all the other really cool people I was fortunate to hang out with for a week and many others for life.

 The uncertainties and challenging elements in my life require me to look upon other’s wisdom, like my river guides, or my Savior Jesus Christ and his chosen servants who allow me my agency to make the choice of how wild I want my ride to be and whether or not I choose to “hang on”, so I can return safely home and back into the loving arms of my beautiful family and Savior Jesus Christ.

No matter which seat we choose in our adventure called life, it’s going to be a crazy fun and wild ride.  Our physical and spiritual safety depends on the knowledge that comes when we know and love Christ and his church.  Although the following scripture found in Ephesians rolls into my mind like a great rapid metaphor to my parable, in order to get the full gist of how Paul’s words to the Ephesians tie in to my trip, my guides, my fellow voyagers and Christianity, one should read chapters 3 and 4:  And to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fulness of God.  Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us, Unto him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus throughout all ages, world without end.  Amen  Ephesians 4:19-21

Leave a Reply

