The Hourglass

As if we were in an hourglass, the swirling sands of time spin our head and mind upward to the beginning where blue meets coral.

What is it that caries us on a rapid and winding channel, sapping the life force from us and spits us out at the bottom? Don’t we all feel like this at times?  We get so caught up in the whirlwind of life, that we forget to pause,  look up, and think back to the beginning of how we got in this predicament in the first place.  Often times, it’s during these moments after we’ve beaten ourselves up that we stop, reflect and examine ourselves and ask, “what the heck is the meaning of life anyway and why do I waste so much of my precious time?”.    “If life and its rushed pace and many stresses have made it difficult for you to feel like rejoicing, then perhaps now is a good time to refocus on what matters most.” Of Things That Matter Most” Dieter F. Uchtdorf

This week I learned about time management and what matters most to me.  I was presented with that moment in time when time stood still as I paused, looked up and did a quick self inspection.  The result?  An experienced change of heart and of being (I actually have those moments often either after a good read, a great time in nature like these pictures depict from my rappel in a slot canyon near my home, or as I am being taught by God).  It is through his holy prophets who have left His words in written form known as the scriptures both ancient and modern such as scriptures like Luke 18: 22 and 2 Nephi 25:26. But this time, my moment came through the means of another individual during a conference I was attending in Provo, Utah.

“Increase your capacity for Action” was the title of the lecture.  The speaker, Jim Stephens, taught the need to identify the difference between the things I can’t control in my life vs. the things I can control.  The things I can’t control are: The weather, what other’s choices are or how they perceive me, my chemical personality like my DNA make-up or if others place their own selves or jobs before me.  What I can control is how I react to others through patience and love.  How I prioritize my time so I can make time for me, God, my family, my community and my friends.

Leonardo da Vinci says that “simplicity is the ultimate sophistication” The Book of Positive Quotations, by John Cook, 2nd ed. (1993), 262..  Wise men like our prophets, apostles and successful businessmen all understand the lessons of running faster than we have strength and the need for simplicity.  “They resist the temptation to get caught up in the frantic rush of everyday life.  They follow the advice of Gandhi, {“There is more to life than increasing its speed.”}  In short, they focus on the things that matter most.” Of Things That Matter Most” Dieter F. Uchtdorf  This is the time when “We have to forgo some good things in order to choose others that are better or best because they develop faith in the Lord Jesus Christ and strengthen our families”.  Elder Dallin H. Oaks “Good, Better, Best

Often when I find myself rappelling down through life’s paths, I know I need to harness up by eliminating so much slack in the rope at my command.  I know I need to simplify my life and make necessary changes so that I can refocus on what I can control.  The most important part of my life begins at the top with God before I begin my decent down my daily path through prayer, meditation and scriptures.  When I begin at the top, no matter what obstacles get in my way, I begin to recognize what my purpose in this life is: “the sublime beauty of the simple, humble path of Christian discipleship-the path that leads always toward a life of meaning, gladness, and peace.”  Of Things That Matter Most” Dieter F. Uchtdorf

 

Leave a Reply

